Baby for Brother Arrow

An acquaintance of mine recently announced she was pregnant with number two, sibling to big brother Arrow.  I sent an appropriately generic “Congratulations” note when I wanted to bombard her  shoot an email ask questions about her naming process.  Arrow is a fascinating baby name choice that has really grown on me.  Baby Number Two’s name will more accurately target the couple’s naming style (I have to throw in a couple of these).  Just like a plaid shirt, Arrow could be at home with the Macho Cowboys or comfortable in Hipsturbia.  An arrow used symbolically could represent war, power, swiftness, the rays of the sun, knowledge, or direction.  The couple may have felt connected to the idea of strength associated with Arrow.

Unfortunately, the acquaintance is unaware of my baby name blog reading obsession and I can’t imagine how non-name-freaks would go about asking for name details.  She might not have dog-eared baby name books.  She might not know about the SSA’s rankings.  She may not have picked out imaginary baby names with her future husband on their third date.  I’ll just have to entertain myself by imagining what I would name a sibling to Brother Arrow.

Boys:

– Truett.  Truett is a modern twist on a virtue name.  I like how there are repeating R’s in Arrow and repeating T’s in Truett.   

– Merit.  Merit is one of my favorite virtue names for boys.  I like how Arrow and Merit both have five letters.   When Arrow is paired with a virtue name, it seems to convey the less warlike, more spiritual connotation of the name. 

– Atlas.  I normally don’t like sibling pairs that start with the same letter, but in this case, I’ll make an exception.  Atlas, a name of a Titan, conveys the same strong image as Arrow.  Arrow and Atlas both have a subtle navigation theme – if you consider there is an arrow pointing North on most maps.   

-Talon.  I immediately imagine the strong claw on an eagle when I hear the baby name Talon.  Isaiah 40:31 “But they that wait upon the Lord shall renew strength; they shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; they shall walk, and not faint” is a great sentiment to convey when explaining to your child why you love their name.

Girls:

– Lux.  The measurement of illumination.  Lux has the on-trend use of X.  Light is a commonly used symbol.  I didn’t know that Sir Thomas Wyatt used Lux as a name for a falcon, but I don’t think that detracts from the name. 

– Vesper.  Latin for Evening Star and often used to refer to evening prayers. 

– Haven.  Does Haven, a safe place, clash with Arrow?  I think it calms it.

– Liberty. I just like the pairing of Arrow and Liberty.

What would you name Baby to Brother Arrow?

This entry was posted in Baby Names. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Baby for Brother Arrow

  1. Alida says:

    What did they choose? I am so curious. 🙂

  2. aukat says:

    Please update us!! Am dying to know what they chose. 😃

  3. Sarah says:

    Ransom – means redemption

Leave a comment